Certified & Listed Products


Fan efficiency grades (FEG) based on AMCA 205 Energy Efficiency Classification for Fans, are now required for many types of fans used in commercial HVAC systems covered by ANSI/ASHRAE/IES 90.1-2013 Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings. The FEGs do not have to be third-party certified, but using FEGs certified by AMCA International's Certified Ratings Program (CRP) provides a fast and easy way to document compliance.

AMCA CRP Database Search

For the fastest way to find AMCA-certified FEG ratings on the AMCA online CRP database, follow these procedures:

Step 1: Click on this link:  Search by License Type
Step 2: Click on FEG
Step 3: Click on a company name
Step 4: Click on a fan type

At this point, you will see the model numbers for AMCA-certified products for that particular manufacturer and fan type. Models that have certified FEG ratings will have a boldface green font. If the manufacturer has opted to reveal FEG ratings, hover over (using your mouse to direct the cursor) the model number will open a pop-up window that presents the FEG rating and the maximum (peak) fan total efficiency.

If the manufacturer has opted to make an applicable product brochure available on the AMCA CRP database, a link will be presented under the model numbers. FEG ratings and peak total pressure ratings may or may not be in the brochure.

Manufacturers' Sizing/Selection Software

Manufacturers that have software for sizing and selecting fans are modifying their programs to show FEGs and peak total pressure. Some manufacturers have certified FEG ratings and peak total pressure ratings as outputs.

Manufacturer Inquiries

Because codes and standards have only recently adopted FEG ratings into fan-efficiency provisions, many manufacturers do not yet have this fan data in printed and electronic brochures. Most can provide this data upon request.

Background Information

With the adoption of fan efficiency grades (FEG) into ANSI/ASHRAE 90.1-13 Energy Standard for Buildings Except Low-Rise Residential Buildings and the 2012 International Green Construction Code (IgCC), many engineers are looking for the FEG ratings of fans.

AMCA began certifying FEG ratings in 2010, soon after the rating standard, AMCA 205 Energy Efficiency Classification for Fans was published. FEG ratings are calculated from data taken during fan rating tests performed in accordance with either AMCA 210 (most types of fans), AMCA 230 (circulating fans under 6-ft in diameter), or ISO 5801 (industrial fans). AMCA 260 (induced flow exhaust fans) is being revised to enable FEG calculations, and is scheduled for publication in 2013.

For more background information, here is a hyperlinked list of (free) AMCA publications and technical articles relevant to FEGs:

For more information, or to report any problems with this page, contact Michael Ivanovich, AMCA International.